Kentucky Derby

Spread the love

Kentucky Derby / Churchill Downs

This year Fleekseats would like to help you celebrate the rich heritage of a world-renowned horse racing event in our own backyard.

On the first Saturday in May every year at Churchill Downs in Louisville Kentucky, a horse race called “The Most Exciting Two Minutes In Sports” known as the Kentucky Derby, a host of Thoroughbred horses race on a one and one-quarter (1 1/4) mile dirt race track which has been run every year since 1875 without exception and typically draws a crowd of 155,000 people from all over the world to compete for a winning purse of $2 million.

Find tickets for your own experience to this years Kentucky Derby by clicking the link below:

Get Derby Tickets Click This Link Now

The Kentucky Derby also called “The Run for the Roses”, is a stakes race for only 3 year old Thoroughbreds. Colts and geldings in the race carry 126 pounds (57 kg), and fillies in the race carry 121 pounds (55 kg). With a larger field size than most horse races, 20 horses racing in the Kentucky Derby must first travel along the Road to the Kentucky Derby, which is a series of 35 races taking place at tracks all over the world. Points are awarded to the top 4 horses that finish in each of those 35 races, and the 20 horses with the most points earn a spot in the starting gate in the Kentucky Derby race.

The Kentucky Derby, at Churchill Downs, is the first leg of the American Triple Crown, and is followed by the Preakness Stakes, then the Belmont Stakes. The dream of all participants is to win all three consecutive races in a given year. Since 1875 only twelve (12) horses have won all three races, see the list below and enjoy videos for each horse by clicking on their names.

Triple Crown champions—U.S.
year horse
1919 Sir Barton
1930 Gallant Fox
1935 Omaha
1937 War Admiral
1941 Whirlaway
1943 Count Fleet
1946 Assault
1948 Citation
1973 Secretariat
1977 Seattle Slew
1978 Affirmed
2015 American Pharoah


Leave a Comment